Founded in 963, Luxembourg became a grand duchy in 1815 and an independent state under the Netherlands. It lost more than half of its territory to Belgium in 1839 but gained a larger measure of autonomy. Full independence was attained in 1867. Overrun by Germany in both world wars, it ended its neutrality in 1948 when it entered into the Benelux Customs Union and when it joined NATO the following year. In 1957, Luxembourg became one of the six founding countries of the European Economic Community (later the European Union), and in 1999 it joined the euro currency area.

Location – Western Europe, between France and Germany

Echternach hotels
Clervaux hotels |
Diekirch hotels |
Esch-sur-Alzette hotels |
Remich hotels |
Vianden hotels |
Wiltz hotels |
Mersch hotels |
Grevenmacher hotels |
Capellen hotels |

Travel Alerts



 New Zealand  Things to do  Travel health
 UK Schengen Visa
 Weather forecast
 Canada  Map